Chopsticks

Forks and knives are not easy commodities to find in China. If you go to a Western restaurant, then they will provide you with them (ex. Pizza Hut).

But usually you are given chopsticks. Wooden ones, disposable ones ~ I have even used metal ones!  Only once though ~ they are NOT easy to use!

When I first arrived, I was very self-conscious about using them. Was I holding them right? No I wasn’t haha.  Were people staring at my ineptness? Yes and taking pictures too!  That doesn’t make one more self-conscious at all!  One day I will ask why they insist on taking pictures of foreigners eating.  It is very disconcerting!

After a few weeks of eating at the school with only chopsticks available, I became much more comfortable with them.

So now, 10 months after arriving in China, I can say that I can eat everything with chopsticks!  Except soup… haha.  I can pick up a single piece of rice with my chopsticks!  I can pick up a piece of chicken and easily eat it. 

One more thing I have succeeded at while in China ~ eating with chopsticks!!

5 thoughts on “Chopsticks

Leave a Reply

