Yellow Dust

Living in China has been an experience that I don’t regret taking at all. But the past week it’s been an eye opening experience.

Yellow dust.  It’s something more than smog.  A west wind blows the dust in from the desert and all I can say is that I don’t like it. I stay holed up in my apartment with all the windows closed. If I have to venture out, it’s to a store or restaurant about 2 minutes away. 

What is amazing are the people out in it without a face mask on them and their children.  How do they live in this?  My hair is dusty, my place is dusty and my clothes are dusty.  

Thank goodness this is only a phenomenon only in spring (so I’m told!!)

I have lived in cities in Canada that have had, what I thought, bad smog days.  What I wouldn’t give for a smoggy day in Toronto right now!!  We know nothing about smog in North America….

4 thoughts on “Yellow Dust

  1. Mel & Suan

    It is true that seasonally it happens more in Spring, but it seems to occur any month in the year these days. Mel used to say when he stays out too long he will get a headache! And this is on normal non-dust storm days!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Leave a Reply

