Let kids be kids!!

There is a reason why the Chinese are so advanced in education. The children are always in school it seems. Even on days that are holidays, some kids are at special schools for the entire day. And this isn’t just the older kids. These are 8 year olds and up going to school from  7am until sometimes 7pm. And older kids are having to do homework until 11 at night. And by older I mean middle school kids ~ 11 year olds.  So is it too much? Is there too much pressure being put on these kids?

Some people ~ especially the parents ~ say no.  They want their kids to have as much education as possible so that they can be successful later in life. And I do understand that.

But does more education mean more success? In my opinion, no it doesn’t.  I consider myself a very successful woman and have an amazing career that I love, but I am not as educated as others my age are. Does that make me less successful?  No. Hard work makes someone successful. Perseverance and overcoming obstacles makes someone successful. Education can play a part but not the only part.

I wish I could talk to the parents here and explain to them that it’s okay for their children to have some downtime and to just be kids!  I would hate to see these wonderful little minds become resentful because of the pressure put on them.

So I say ~ let them be kids. They are young for such a short time and then adult life happens.  And that is meant for kids all over the world ~ not just in China!!  Let kids be kids ~ real life will happen for them soon enough!!

2 thoughts on “Let kids be kids!!

  1. Mel & Suan

    This appears to be a trend amongst Asian parents. But particularly amongst north Asians – Chinese, Koreans, Japanese etc. Perhaps its the social upbringing about scholarly success from the ancient days which goads parents to put their children into such regimes of rote learn. What do you think?

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  2. Travel the world with Duey Post author

    I think thats exactly what it is. This thinking has been passed down for so long that its normal. I just find it sad some days to hear how much learning they do and don’t have as much fun. But they are used to it.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

