Reflections

It was two years ago today that I gave my son the biggest hug good bye, took my bags, and headed to the Calgary airport to start on a journey that has taken me so much further than I ever could have expected!

What started as a 6 month leave of absence from a job I loved, has turned into the best career choice I’ve ever made.

Transitioning from a legal assistant to a teacher of English as a foreign language was a difficult one, but definitely the most enriching. I’ve looked for that perfect job my entire adult life, and while I did love my last job, it never felt like it was the career I wanted. Something was missing but I didn’t know what it was. Until November 2014.

Moving to Prague and becoming a teacher was the career change I’d been looking for and dreaming about it for a long time. I knew after two months of being there that I was not going back to what I had before.

I no longer look at my job as a way to make money – its a career that makes me proud of what I do and want to grow into a better teacher every day.

Living in Europe was life-changing. My attitude, my way of thinking – everything. I’ve grown into a new person, and that person is strong and can do anything she puts her mind to.

Europe, Asia – this career is nothing short of amazing and I cannot wait to see where it will take me in the future.

Canada will always be my home, and I’m proud to tell people I’m Canadian, but this Canadian girl wants to see as much of the world as she can – and nothing is going to stop her!

Anyone can have this journey – you just have to want it enough to do it. I’m so glad I had the courage to do it!!

Leave a Reply

